娱乐/电视的未来是什么?

娱乐/电视的未来是什么?

娱乐的历史就像人类本身一样古老。而它也一直反映着这个时代的科技水平和可能性。在前科技时代,娱乐似乎向外走,人们更多的兴趣投向了基于公众集会和舞台上的表演或表演。这种娱乐活动的遗存,今天仍然可以以马戏团、公共表演或音乐会的形式出现。

内向型趋势

随着娱乐小工具的出现,可以局限于家庭空间的娱乐小工具的出现,人们开始将娱乐作为更多的个人体验,而不是群体体验。首先是收音机,然后是电视,最后是个人和越来越多的个人噱头,如游戏机、平板电脑甚至智能手机。虽然人们在大群体中自娱自乐并分享经验的聚会的想法并没有消失,但越来越多的人变成了那些更多的个人娱乐形式,由于在线社交分享功能的存在,这些娱乐形式还是成为了大群体的一部分。

小的还是大的?

可移动电话

前些年,移动设备(包括娱乐用的设备)的建设似乎将进入小型化。在时代或互联网化设备和高清屏幕之前,厂商们试图将尽可能多的东西挤进狭小的空间。即使是当时的科幻电影,也经常把通讯设备呈现为戴在手腕上或耳后的小物件。而娱乐部分则是以全息图或投影的形式出现在你的眼前或大脑内部。

随着高清屏幕和宽带互联网的普及,设备也不得不跟上需求。买一台64英寸的电视机,在不久前还被认为是一件荒唐的事,但在今天看来已经不是什么稀奇的事了。几年前,人们常常嘲笑商务人士用笨重的大手机(还记得80年代的砖头手机吗?同样的人(当他们不用来娱乐的时候)在便携式电视上交谈......

越来越多的娱乐环节(电影和游戏)都在依赖更高清晰度的画面,屏幕的大小确实很重要。除了虚拟现实之外,只有更大的画面才能为观众/玩家提供沉浸在故事情节中的真实体验。这也是电视越来越大的原因。下一步是什么?

3D、4D、.....?

进入电视中的立体影像似乎是最合乎逻辑和期望的方向。第一次在3D电影院里看到的兴奋,以及屏幕上隐隐约约可见的物体,让你有种想伸手抓住它们的冲动,这让你对在电视上有类似的体验的期望更加强烈。如果再加上一些额外的感觉,如运动、嗅觉或一些简单的物理效果,例如,像在所谓的4D电影院里一样,在你的脸上吹气或喷水,希望就更大了。理论上来说,这只是一个适当的技术问题,而最终,这个问题终于到来了。

然后呢?茶杯里的风暴。看来,整个3D业务似乎只是昙花一现。它并没有像预想的那样起飞,虽然各大电视厂商依然在力推自己的3D电视机,但对这种功能的需求并没有大家想象中的那么大。也许是大家对这项技术并没有想象中的那么惊艳,可能是大家对这项技术有一定的失望。而且,对于普通观众来说,一直戴着3D眼镜太不舒服了。必须要想出别的办法。

HD(R)经验

高辐射火

随着大屏幕电视的蓬勃发展,厂商们不得不对画面分辨率进行处理,让我们看的东西不至于像老式VHS录像带一样。越来越多的像素先是用高清(1080p)包装到屏幕上,后来又用超高清分辨率(2160p),分辨率是标准DVD或高清画面的2倍。而8K UHD(8000p,像素是标准HDTV格式的16倍)或8K fulldome(8192×8192,6710万像素)的分辨率可以更进一步提升,这也是现代高端投影的半球型影院或星际影院的分辨率。

数据加载问题

超高清晰度屏幕唯一的问题是这样的分辨率需要的数据量(不仅仅是图片,还有增强的色彩范围和更多的音频通道)。没有多少连接(更不用说互联网流媒体了)可以处理这样的数据负载,而且很少有物理载体可以承载这么多的信息。1分钟的未压缩的超高清分辨率影片大约需要350GB。在压缩和24Gbit/s的比特率下,18分钟的超高清电视电影需要约3.5TB的容量,而这些数据只能存储在HVD(Holographic Versatile Disc,容量为3.9TB)上。目前还在开发一种理论上可存储50TB容量的蛋白涂层光盘。

新的趋势

由于存储和传输能力仍旧限制了转播商和制作商,因此出现了新的趋势。继拍照之后,厂商们决定另辟蹊径。电视屏幕的放大有其合理的限制,像素的数量到了人眼已经看不出差别的地步。然而,肉眼却可以看到画面的色彩和对比度的差异,于是HDR电视应运而生。高动态范围(相对于SDR--标准动态范围),扩大了对比度和色彩。这个功能与分辨率没有太大的关系--对比度和色彩出色的电视总是会在画面上击败分辨率较高的电视。

很多人从摄影中知道HDR这个词,都会担心HDR电视上的照片会像HDR照片一样,夸张、超逼真。HDR摄影就是将几张不同曝光度的图片合并成一张,往往以夸张的方式曝光色彩和对比度范围。HDR电视图像具有更好的对比度、色彩和亮度,使画面更加逼真。简单来说,HDR照片看起来不一样,而HDR电视图像只是看起来更好。

虚拟现实还是增强现实?

增强现实

无论电视画面变得多大、多锐利,它永远不会像虚拟现实那样直接传递到你的眼睛和身体上的互动性和吸引人的体验。早在20世纪90年代,虚拟现实技术就被提上了各大公司的议事日程,其中有精彩的尝试,也有同样精彩的失败(任天堂虚拟男孩就是其中一个例子)。在我们深入到可能的娱乐应用之前,让我们先解释一下这两个概念之间的基本区别。

VR

虚拟现实其实就是创造出一个完全虚拟的世界,有效地将你与周围的现实世界隔绝开来。它可能是以一种很难区分你所看到的东西是否真实的方式创造出来的。然而,你完全沉浸在一个人工电脑生成的模拟或现实生活环境中,主要刺激你的视觉和听觉。这通常可以通过佩戴非透视耳机来实现。其他的感官也可以通过戴上模拟触摸的特殊手套来增加,或者,最终,通过穿上可以提供整体身体体验的全身防护服来实现。

AR

另一方面,增强现实,基本上是在现有现实的基础上加入虚拟组件,如数字图像、图形或感觉等,作为在现有现实的基础上增加一层。它实际上是将现实世界与数字组件融合在一起,使它们相互增强,但又很容易被区分开来。这种体验可以通过透视式耳机或眼镜来实现,但也可以在装有摄像头的设备上使用,如笔记本电脑、平板电脑甚至智能手机。

娱乐应用

vr-gaming

虚拟现实似乎是一个完美的游戏解决方案,因为所创造的世界可能包含了所有可能和不可能的幻想,而且不受现实的限制。更重要的是,在电视业务中没有真正成功的东西,也就是3D,可以通过立体3D头戴式的3D头显融入到VR娱乐中。如果再加上一系列的触摸和运动模拟小工具,你就有了一个完美的游戏装备。但是,可能会出现某些问题。首先,这种设备可能相当昂贵,而且它需要一定的空间,基本上只用于这个特定的目的。它不是,作为尚未,你可以带着你和享受你去任何地方的东西。此外,有观点认为,长期输入眼脑系统(尤其是近视立体三维图像)会导致一系列的暂时性甚至永久性的神经功能障碍。

游戏化

另一方面,增强现实技术在可能对神经系统的影响方面似乎要安全得多(它依赖于 "自然 "的三维图像,因为它是从现实生活环境中提取的)。这个 "世界 "可能不像VR生成的设置那样令人印象深刻,但它给用户带来了更大的现实感,只是因为部分体验是真实的。此外,除了硬核玩家推崇完全人工环境的硬核玩家,很多人似乎更多的是去 "随心所欲 "的娱乐。AR头盔,或者说是眼镜,似乎没有经典的VR眼镜那么繁琐,其软件其实可能是标准的手机或眼镜本身就搭载在手机上。虽然技术不像VR那样发达,但前景看起来很好。

今后我们该何去何从?

神经插头

当然,VR/AR应用仍将会被开发出来,这似乎是娱乐的未来,而增强现实作为满足越来越多的移动社会的需求的娱乐方式,其意义略显强烈。随着生物和神经科学的进步,我们可能会期待新的娱乐方式,或许可以直接将娱乐信息传递到我们的大脑,毕竟,我们的眼睛、耳朵、嗅觉和感觉都是由大脑来决定的。脑电图类型的神经头像仪可以 "读取 "我们的脑电波,这已经成为现实。要制造出这种不仅能读取我们大脑的输出,还能实际产生输入的设备,这需要多长时间?听起来几乎和恐怖一样令人兴奋。

好家伙

所幸的是,大部分的高科技方案,要么属于科幻领域,要么还在开发中,在各种科技展会上,基本都能看到一些概念性的项目。或者说它们的价格还很贵,一般的普通人还买不起。然而,我们的电视、笔记本电脑、台式机、平板电脑或智能手机依然可以用来做我们最熟悉和最喜欢的事情--流媒体。在我们潜入3D增强现实世界直接传递到我们的大脑之前,让我们带着一个好的,老式的遥控器或鼠标,找到我们最喜欢的节目或电影。网络上有成千上万的服务可供选择,但我们推荐智能DNS代理,Getflix和Trickbyte作为那些提供我们都想要的东西--大量的娱乐,良好的质量,高效的支持和整体客户满意度。

保留回复

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

+ 75 = 77

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解您的评论数据的处理方式

将其固定在兴趣上

分享此

What is the future of entertainment / TV?

What is the future of entertainment / TV?

Entertainment is as old as the human race itself. And it has always reflected the technological level and possibilities of the times. During the pre-tech days, entertainment seemed to go outwards, with more interest invested in shows or performances based on public gatherings and on-stage acts. The remains of such entertainment can still be seen today in the form of circuses, public shows or concerts.

Inward trend

With the advent of entertainment gadgets that could be confined to your home space, people started to treat entertainment as more individual, rather than group, experience. First, the radio, then television, finally coming to individual and more and more personal gimmicks such as game consoles, tablets or even smartphones. Although the idea of bog gathering in which people entertain themselves in large groups and share the experience has not died out, more and more people turn into those more individual forms of fun which, due to online social sharing functionalities, nevertheless become a part of a large group.

Going small or big?

phablet

Some years ago, it seemed that the construction of mobile devices (including those meant for entertainment) will go into miniaturization. Before the era or Internet-enabled equipment and HD screens, manufacturers tried to squeeze as much as possible into small space. Even science-fiction movies of the times often presented communication devices as small objects worn on the wrist or behind your ear. Entertainment part was to be in a form of the hologram or projection either directly in front of your eyes or inside your brain.

With the dawn of high definition screens and broadband Internet, the devices had to catch up with the demand. Buying a 64” TV set for a mid-size apartment, considered preposterous not so long ago, is nothing unusual today. Some years ago, people used to laugh at business people talking on cumbersome, large mobile phones (remember 1980’s brick phones?). The same people (when they do not use it for entertainment) talk over portable TVs…

More and more entertainment segments (films and games) are relying on higher definition picture and the size of the screen does matter. With the exception of virtual reality, only a bigger picture is capable of providing a real experience of being immersed in the storyline for the viewer/player. That is why the TV are getting bigger and bigger. What’s next?

3D, 4D, …?

Going into stereoscopic imagery in TV seemed the most logical and desired direction to go into. The excitement of first 3D movie theaters and shows with objects looming out of the screen so that you feel the urge to reach out your hand and grab them fueled the expectations of having similar experience on TV. If you add to it additional sensations such as movement, smell or some simple physical effects of, e.g. blowing air or spraying water over your face just like it was in so-called 4D cinema, the hopes were even bigger. Theoretically, it was just a matter of proper technology which, eventually, arrived.

And? A storm in a teacup. It seems to appear that the whole 3D business was just a flash in the pan. It didn’t take off the way it was expected and although major TV manufacturers still push for their 3D TV sets, the demand for this kind of functionality is not as big as everyone expected. Perhaps it is the matter of certain disappointment with the technology which is not as impressive as people thought it would be. Besides, wearing 3D glasses all the time is too uncomfortable for an average viewer. Something else had to be conceived.

HD(R) experience

hdr-fire

With the boom of large screen TVs, the manufacturers had to deal with the picture resolution so that the things that we watch do not look like old VHS tapes. More and more pixels were packed into screens first with HD (1080p), and later with Ultra HD resolution (2160p) with 2 times higher resolution than standard DVD or HD picture. The resolution can be even more enhanced with 8K UHD (8000p and 16 times more pixels than standard HDTV format) or 8K fulldome (8192×8192 with 67.1 megapixels) which is the resolution of top-end modern projection for hemispherical theaters or planetaria.

Data load problem

The only problem with ultra-high definition screens is the amount of data that such resolution takes (it is not just a picture, it is also enhanced color range and larger number of audio channels). Not many connections (not to mention Internet streaming) can handle such data load and there are very few physical carriers that can hold so much information. 1 minute of uncompressed Ultra HD resolution film requires approximately 350 GB. With compression and a 24Gbit/s bitrate, 18 minutes of UHDTV film takes about 3.5 TB which can only be stored on HVD (Holographic Versatile Disc with 3.9 TB capacity). A protein-coated disc with theoretical 50 TB storage capacity is still being developed.

A new trend

As the storage and transmission capacity still limit the broadcasters and producers, a new trend emerged. Following the photography, manufacturers decided to go into something different. Enlarging TV screens has its reasonable limits and the number of pixels comes to the point that human eye is no longer able to see the difference. The naked eye can, however, see the difference in colors and contrast of the picture thus giving birth to HDR TV. High Dynamic Range (as opposed to SDR – Standard Dynamic Range), expands the contrast and color. This feature does not depend much on the resolution – a TV with excellent contrast and color will always beat the one with just a higher resolution in terms of the picture.

Many people who know the term HDR from photography are afraid that the picture on HDR TV will be exaggerated and hyper-realistic, as is often the case with HDR photos. HDR photography consists in merging several images of different exposure into one that exposes color and contrast ranges often in an exaggerated way. HDR TV images have better contrast, color and brightness making the picture more realistic. To put things in a simple way – HDR photos look different whereas HDR TV images simply look better.

Virtual or Augmented Reality?

augmented-reality

No matter how big or how sharp the TV picture becomes, it will never be as interactive and engaging experience as virtual reality delivered directly to your eyes and your body. Back in the 1990s, virtual reality was on every major company’s agenda with spectacular attempts and equally spectacular failures (with Nintendo Virtual Boy being one of many examples). Before we go deeper into possible entertainment applications, let us start with explaining basic difference between the two notions.

VR

Virtual reality is actually all about creating an entirely virtual world which effectively cuts you off from the real world surrounding you. It may be created in a way that it is hard to distinguish whether what you see is real or not. Nevertheless, you are totally submerged in an artificially computer-generated simulation or recreation of real life environment stimulating primarily your vision and hearing. It can usually be achieved by wearing a non-see-through headset. Other senses may also be added by wearing special gloves which simulate touch or, ultimately, whole body suits that can deliver overall bodily experience.

AR

Augmented reality, on the other hand, basically consists in adding virtual components such as digital images, graphics or sensations as an extra layer on top of an existing reality. It is actually blending the real world with digital components in a way that they enhance each other but can easily be told apart. The experience may be delivered by means of see-through headset or glasses but it can also be used on camera-equipped devices such as laptop, tablet or even a smartphone.

Entertainment applications

vr-gaming

Virtual reality seems a perfect solution for gaming as the world that is created may include all possible and impossible fantasies and is not limited by any reality restrictions. What’s more, something that did not really succeed in TV business, namely 3D, can be incorporated into VR entertainment by means of stereoscopic 3D headsets. If you add the whole range of touch and movement simulating gadgets to it, you have a perfect gaming gear. However, certain problems may appear. For one, such gear may be quite expensive and it would require certain space basically devoted only for this particular purpose. It is not, as yet, something that you can take with you and enjoy anywhere you go. Besides, there are opinions that prolonged inputs into the eye-brain system (particularly near-eye stereoscopic 3D images) can cause a spectrum of temporary or even permanent neurologic deficits.

ar-gaming

Augmented reality, on the other hand, seems to be much more safe in terms of possible neurologic effects (it relies on “natural” 3D imagery as it is taken from real life environment). The “world” may not be as impressive as it is in the case of VR generated settings but it gives the user much bigger touch of reality simply because part of the experience is, well, REAL. Besides, except for hard-core gamers who praise totally artificial environments, a lot of people seem to go more into “on-the-go” entertainment. AR headsets, or rather glasses, seem to be less cumbersome than classic VR goggles and their software may actually be onboard standard mobile phone or the glasses themselves. The technology is not as developed as in the case of VR but the prospects look good.

Where do we go from here?

neuroplug

For sure VR/AR applications will be still developed and it seems that this is actually the future of entertainment with slightly stronger indication towards augmented reality as the one which answers the need of more and more mobile society. With the advancements of bio- and neuroscience, we may expect new ways of delivering entertainment perhaps directly to our brains which, after all, is fully responsible for what we see, hear, smell and feel. The EEG-type neuroheadsets which literally “read” our brainwaves are already a reality. How long is it going to take to create the device which will not only read the output of our brain but will actually create input? Sound almost as exciting as scary.

Good Ol’ Binge

Fortunately, most of the hi-tech solutions are either a part of the science fiction realm or are still under development and can be seen mostly as concept projects at various technology fairs. Or they are still very expensive and an average man in the street is still not able to afford them. However, we still have our TVs, laptops, desktops, tablets or smartphones that we can use for what we know and like best – streaming. Before we dive into the world of 3D augmented reality world delivered directly to our brain, let us take a good, old-fashioned remote or a mouse and find our favorite show or movie. There are thousands of services around the web to choose from but we recommend Smart DNS ProxyGetflix and Trickbyte as the ones that deliver what we all want – tons of entertainment, good quality, efficient support and overall customer satisfaction.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 + 6 =

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This