免费 VPN vs 付费 VPN

免费 VPN vs 付费 VPN

免费 vpn vs 付费 vpn

虚拟私人网络--对地理限制和隐私问题的答案。在无处不在的网络监控和身份盗窃的世界里,一个数字救星。一条通往任何你可能想象到的远程和限制地点的私人隧道。通过加密协议保护你的数据和隐私的安全。所有这些基础设施和人力支持可以免费运行吗?很难说。

免费的服务真的是免费的吗?

许多在线服务都有免费和付费两种级别。有时差别相对较小,有时差别很大,但尽管如此,在大多数情况下,魔鬼就在细节中。重要的是要明白,虽然你可能没有为某些服务实际支付现金,但你可能是以另一种方式支付。在其最简单的形式中,"付款 "是通过有针对性的广告和数据跟踪进行的。其他的,更危险的,包括收集数据日志,监测你的在线活动和出售甚至偷窃你的带宽。

选择免费与付费VPN时应考虑的事项

当你决定是选择免费还是付费的VPN服务时,有几个问题需要研究。其中有些问题不太重要,但有些问题对你的安全或隐私至关重要。让我们从那些不太重要的方面开始,了解一下VPN功能的最重要方面。

客户服务

免费VPN服务通常没有专门的支持团队,或者是缓慢而低效的。如果连续几天等待答复的电子邮件并不令你担心,那也没关系。然而,大多数付费VPN服务提供24/7的支持渠道,包括即时聊天或票据系统。显然,他们的速度和效率因服务不同而不同,但大多数都能完成工作。

用户友好性

大多数免费VPN供应商以 "原始 "状态提供其服务,几乎不提供任何设置教程、故障排除指南或手册。这对一个普通的、并非真正懂IT的用户来说,实际上意味着他们必须翻阅大量的网络文件,或者在一击即中的原则下尝试设置VPN,这都不是用户友好和安全的做法。付费服务通常会珍惜你的时间,并为你提供详细的、通常是一步一步的设置说明和故障排除指南,以防出错。

支持多种设备

一些免费的VPN平台限制了每个账户可以使用的设备数量,所以如果你打算同时使用一个以上的设备,你需要设置多个账户,从长远来看,这是一个麻烦。有信誉的付费VPN服务不施加任何这类限制,将让你在同一账户下同时使用多个设备。

垃圾邮件

大多数免费VPN供应商收集你的个人信息,如你的电子邮件地址,并向你发送额外的促销内容,所以一段时间后,你会发现你的收件箱被免费VPN服务或其附属机构发送的广告和电子邮件塞满。付费VPN服务通常向你提供登录信息,仅此而已。没有额外的信息、优惠或广告。

VPN连接速度

使用免费服务通常意味着它已经被其他人过度使用。由于没有在基础设施上投入资金(因为没有从用户那里收钱),带宽是有限的,通过一个VPN服务器同时支持数千个连接并不那么容易。付费VPN通常有广泛的服务器网络和高带宽,因此同时为多个连接提供服务不是问题。

VPN的可用性和稳定性

与上述问题类似,免费VPN服务向非付费客户提供的服务器数量有限。如果你把它与有限的带宽结合起来,由于各地缺乏多个VPN节点,你可能会时不时地遇到意外的断开连接,这通常使免费VPN服务不完全可靠。此外,在你的VPN连接中断的时候,你的互联网流量会被暴露。同样,这种问题不存在于投资良好的付费VPN供应商的基础设施中。

缝合-vpn

现在,在问题稍重的一面,你还应牢记免费与付费VPN服务的以下方面。

VPN协议

大多数免费VPN服务只提供PPTP VPN。用于验证实施PPTP协议的用户的MS-CHAP V2握手协议非常容易被破解,并不安全。付费VPN供应商为您提供各种加密协议(PPTP、L2TO/IPSEC、OpenVPN、SSTP甚至SSH),以隧道方式传输您的流量并保证其安全。关于协议和VPN的好处的更多信息可在这里找到。

收集数据日志

一些免费VPN公司会收集你的浏览、应用使用、网上购买的东西等的数据日志,并将其用于自身利益,或出售给用于广告的公司。那么在最好的情况下,你的数据可能只是被收集、出售或推销,但在最坏的情况下,它可以走到DMCA的交接。

窃取你的带宽

当你连接到一些免费的VPN服务提供商时,他们实际上会使用你的计算机来服务其他用户的带宽。这将使你的机器变慢,因为你的带宽和硬件实际上被别人使用了。此外,如果有人使用你的电脑进行邪恶活动,你可能要为他们的浏览内容负责。最好(或最坏)的例子可能是Hola--一个免费的VPN,基于浏览器的插件,目前在全球有近5000万用户使用。

vpn tunelling

Hola案例

一旦你把Hola安装到你的电脑或浏览器上,它可以立即使你的互联网连接成为各种流量的出口节点,从而使用户成为VPN终端,这样Hola网络的其他用户就可以通过他的互联网连接出口,占用他的IP。Hola实际做的是通过其姐妹企业Luminati向其他客户出售免费用户的带宽。

这不仅是对隐私的巨大侵犯,许多Hola用户完全没有意识到这一点,这种收入模式还产生了一些其他问题。首先,如果你使用Hola,你的带宽很可能在你的互联网活动闲置时被Hola占用和使用。其次,Luminati的客户可以将流量发送到他们想去的任何地方,而流量的来源又会直接回到你这里。这意味着你自己的IP地址可能被用于非法活动或邪恶的目的。

匿名性

虽然看起来免费的VPN服务更加匿名,因为它通常不要求你提供完整或真实的细节,你可能很容易提供虚假的用户信息,而付费的VPN服务会要求你提供正确的细节,这些细节也会在支付过程中使用(即PayPal、信用卡等)。然而,你应该记住,你的匿名性基本上只限于你的记录细节,而你的IP地址仍然可以被VPN供应商记录下来,你的流量可以被监控。请记住,你的IP保持不变,如果供应商方面出现任何安全漏洞或恶意活动(在免费VPN服务的情况下更有可能发生),无论你是否提供真实的联系信息,你在网上做的任何事情都会暴露。

安全性

要小心,因为一些不名誉的公司可以冒充免费VPN,这将使他们能够监控你的所有活动,并很可能获得你的用户账户、银行信息、证书甚至信用卡号码给任何感兴趣的人。加密的方式在这里也很重要,因为某些协议更容易被泄露,也更容易被供应商解密。微软已经多次正式声明,PPTP协议已经被破坏。另一方面,L2TP/IPsec显示了一个体面的安全水平。它基本上是一个2层的隧道系统,用于加倍的流量安全。在使用这种方法时,没有重大漏洞的报道。

隐私

判决书

考虑到上述所有事实,结论似乎很明显--如果你认真关心你的流量安全和匿名性,请选择付费VPN服务。他们有能力实施这些机制,并利用其完善和安全的基础设施来保证你的数据安全,远离那些有意伤害你的人的窥视。除非你只是一个碰巧要去中国度假的旅行者,想继续在YouTube上观看你最喜欢的音乐视频。否则,请使用受人尊敬和值得信赖的服务,如Smart DNS Proxy,它提供各种VPN选项,包括SmartVPN,一个 "混合 "的智能DNS/VPN解决方案,使你的数据100%安全和隐私。

保留回复

您的电子邮件地址将不会被公布。 必须填写的字段被标记为*

77 + = 80

本网站使用 Akismet 来减少垃圾邮件。了解您的评论数据的处理方式

将其固定在兴趣上

分享此

Free VPN vs Paid VPN

Free VPN vs Paid VPN

free vpn vs paid vpn

Virtual Private Network – an answer to geo-restrictions and privacy issues. A digital savior in the world of omnipresent web surveillance and identity theft. A private tunnel to any remote and restricted location you may possibly imagine. Security through encryption protocols which guard your data and your privacy. Can all this infrastructure and human support run for free? Hardly.

Is a FREE service really free?

Numerous online services have both free and paid tiers. Sometimes the difference is relatively small, sometimes it is massive but, nevertheless, in most of the cases the devil is in the detail. It is important to understand that while you may not be actually paying in cash for certain services, you might be paying another way. In its simplest form, the “payment” is made through targeted ads and data tracking. Other, much more dangerous, include collecting data logs, monitoring your online activity and selling or even stealing your bandwidth.

Things to consider while choosing a free vs paid VPN

There are several issues that need to be looked into when you make a decision on whether to go for a free or paid VPN service. Some of them are of less importance but some of them are crucial to your security or privacy. Let us go through the most important aspects of VPN functionalities starting with those less critical ones.

Customer service

Free VPN services do not usually have dedicated support team or it is slow and inefficient. If waiting for the reply email for several days does not worry you, that is fine. However, most paid VPN services offer 24/7 support channels either with live chat or a ticket system. Obviously, their speed and efficiency varies from one service to another but most of them can get the job done.

User-friendliness

Majority of free VPN providers offer their services in a ‘raw’ state and hardly ever supply any set-up tutorials, troubleshooting guides or manuals. What it actually means to an average, not really IT-literate user is that they have to dig through a number of network documents or try to set the VPN up under the hit-or-miss principle, neither of which is user-friendly and safe. Paid services usually value your time and provide you with detailed, often step-by-step, setup instructions and troubleshooting guides in case something goes wrong.

Multiple device support

Some free VPN platforms limit the number of devices that you can use per account so if you plan to use more than one device at the same time, you would need to set up multiple accounts which, in a long run, is a nuisance. Reputable paid VPN services do not impose any restrictions of this kind and will let you use multiple devices at the same time under the same account.

Email spam

Most free VPN providers gather your personal information such as your email address and send you additional promotional content so after a while you will find your inbox crammed with ads and emails sent from your free VPN service or its affiliates. Paid VPN services usually provide you with the login information and that is all. No extra messages, offers or ads.

VPN connection speed

Using a free service normally means that it is already overused with other people. With no money invested in the infrastructure (since no money is gathered from the users), the bandwidth is limited and supporting thousands of connections at the same time via one VPN server is not that easy. Paid VPNs usually have an extensive network of servers and high bandwidth so serving multiple connections simultaneously is not a problem.

VPN availability and stability

Similar to the problem above, free VPN services have a limited number of servers available to non-paying clients. If you combine it with limited bandwidth, you may experience unexpected disconnections every now and then due to a lack of multiple VPN nodes in various locations, which generally makes a free VPN service not entirely reliable. Additionally, your Internet traffic gets exposed the moment your VPN connection is lost. Again, such problem does not exist with well-invested infrastructure of paid VPN providers.

strealing-vpn

Now, on a slightly heavier side of the problem, you should also bear in mind the following aspects of free vs paid VPN services:

VPN protocols

Most free VPN services provide only PPTP VPNs. The MS-CHAP V2 handshake protocol used to authenticate the user implementing the PPTP protocol is very easy to crack and is not secure. Paid VPN providers offer you a wide array of encryption protocols (PPTP, L2TO/IPSEC, OpenVPN, SSTP and even SSH) to tunnel your traffic and keep it secure. More information on protocols and the benefits of VPNs can be found here.

Collecting data logs

Some free VPN companies will collect data logs on your browsing, app usage, things you buy online etc. and use it to their own benefit or sell it to companies who use it for advertising purposes. In the best-case scenario then, your data may simply be collected, sold or marketed but, at worst, it can go as far as DMCA hand-offs.

Stealing your bandwidth

When you connect to some free VPN service providers, they will actually use your computer to serve other users’ bandwidth. This will slow your machine down because your bandwidth and your hardware are actually being used by someone else. Additionally, if someone is using your computer for nefarious activities you could be held liable for the content of their browsing. The best (or worst, for that matter) example may be the case of Hola – a free VPN, browser-based add-on currently used by almost 50 million users around the globe.

vpn tunelling

Hola case

Once you install Hola onto your computer or browser, it can instantly make your Internet connection an exit node for all sorts of traffic thus making a user a VPN endpoint so other users of the Hola network may exit through his Internet connection and take on his IP. what Hola actually did was to sell bandwidth of free users to other customers through their sister business, Luminati.

Not only is this a huge breach of privacy that many Hola users are utterly unaware of, there are also a number of other issues that arise from such a revenue model. Firstly, if you use Hola, your bandwidth could quite well be taken and used by Hola whenever your internet activity goes idle. Secondly, Luminati customers can send that traffic to anywhere they’d like, and the source leads straight back to you. This means your own IP address could be used for illegal activity or nefarious purposes.

Anonymity

Although it may seem that free VPN service is more anonymous in a way that it usually does not ask you for full or real details and you may easily supply fake user information, while a paid VPN service would ask for your correct details which are also used during the payment process (i.e. PayPal, credit card, etc.). However, you should bear in mind that your anonymity is basically limited to your logging details whereas your IP address can still be logged by the VPN provider and your traffic can be monitored. Remember that your IP remains the same and in case of any security breach or malicious activity on the side of the provider (which are more likely to happen in the case of free VPN services), whatever you do online gets exposed whether you provide real contact details or not.

Security

Be careful because some disreputable companies can pose as a free VPN, which would allow them to monitor all of your activity and quite possibly gain access to your user accounts, bank information, credentials or even credit card numbers to any interested party. Also the ways of encryption matter here as certain protocols are more susceptible to leaks and are easier to decrypt by the providers. Microsoft has officially stated multiple times that the PPTP protocol has been compromised. L2TP/IPsec, on the other hand, shows a decent level of security. It is basically a 2-layer tunneling system used to double the traffic security. No major vulnerabilities have been reported while using this method.

privacy

Verdict

Considering all the above-mentioned facts, the conclusion seems pretty obvious – if you seriously care about your traffic security and anonymity, go for the paid VPN services. They are capable of implementing the mechanisms and make use of their well-developed and safe infrastructure to keep your data secure and away from the prying eyes of those who mean you harm. Unless you are just a traveler who happens to be going for a vacation trip to China and would like to keep watching your favorite music videos on YouTube. Otherwise use a respected and trustworthy services such as Smart DNS Proxy which offers a wide variety of VPN options including SmartVPN, a ‘hybrid’ Smart DNS/VPN solution which keeps your data 100% safe and private.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 + 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This